2 Apr 2024

Rhinos Scholars take to AMT Headingley pitch this Wednesday

Leeds Rhinos Under-16s Scholars are in action on Wednesday night as Mark Butterill's side look to get a second win of the season against Castleford Tigers Under-16s, kick off 7pm.

Leeds opened their account for the season with a great second half performance against the black and whites that saw Harvey Butterworth, Dacx Jones-Buchanan, Tom Richardson and Luke Fagan go over the try line to claim a 26-16 result. The Rhinos side was made up mostly of second year Scholars, but Brennan Johnson, Jacob Tooala and Robin Smith came off the bench to make their first appearance for the Under-16s after signing for the club in November last year.

Watch the highlights from the win over Hull FC:

The Tigers got their year off to a winning start too as they put Wakefield Trinity to the sword in a 28-6 result; Josh Sundin leading the way with a hat trick. They take on the young Rhinos at AMT Headingley for the first time since 2021, when a hat trick from Fergus McCormack led the scoring in a 54-24 win for Leeds.

Team News

This week's clash with the Tigers sees Butterill make eight changes to the side that beat Hull FC a fortnight ago. 

As the Scholarship is primarily about developing players for the future, head coach Butterill gets the chance to see how some of his youngest squad members play in match conditions. Seven of the eight changes sees first-year players come into the team for their first appearance in blue and amber, including Sonny Hetherington, Will Hunter, Seth Marchant and Sam Oldroyd who all start. On the bench, Noah Lunn, Jack Mears, Daniel Shaw and Alfie Steel are also involved on Wednesday night off the bench.

Marchant will partner Jacob Hardy, who played at loose forward against Hull FC, whilst Will Hunter plays in his fourth Scholarship game for the Rhinos, after featuring three times in 2023.

Micah Charles, Luke Fagan, Mason Peach, Caleb Rhodes, James Rowney, Hughie Tinkler and Wade White come out of the team.

The team in full is:

1. Will Hunter

2. Tom Richardson sponsored by Hebask

3. Jacob Tooala

4. Sonny Hetherington

5. Sam Oldroyd

6. Jacob Hardy sponsored by Bennetts Butchers

7. Seth Marchant sponsored by Oak Electrical

8. Dacx Jones-Buchanan

9. Harvey Butterworth sponsored by Travis Perkins

10. Will Wilkinson sponsored by KSW

11. Zak Lloyd

12. Cobi Ellis sponsored by Beau Occasion Prom and Formal wear

13. Brennan Townend

14. Noah Lunn

15. Robin Smith

16. Jack Mears

17. Alfie Steel sponsored by T&A Powering Maintenance

18. Daniel Shaw

19. Daniel Stelfox

20. Logan Staveley-Carr

To sponsor a Reserves, Academy, Women's Academy or Scholarship player, email sales@therhinos.co.uk.

More Information

See below for further fan information:

  • Gate E (St Michaels Lane) open – 6pm
  • Entry fee – Cash donations for Leeds Rhinos Foundation on arrival.
  • Viewing area – Unreserved seating in the South Stand seats or standing on the South Stand Terrace (along the side, undercover)
  • Accessible area - South Stand accessible areas in front of the South Stand Terrace
  • Toilets – AMT East Stand Ground Floor Toilets
  • Parking - Free Parking is available in Car Park F (St Michaels Lane – LS6 3BR) on a first come, first served basis.
  • Food and Drink – There will be a concession unit in South Stand Car Park selling food and drinks.
  • Dogs – Dogs are not allowed at the venue with exception of Guide Dogs.

Stadium Partner


Technical Partner

Technical Partner

Main Partner

Main Partner

Associate Partners

Leeds Beckett University
Chadwick Lawrence
Caddick Developments
Vale Services
NIC Group
Axis Group
Evolve Lettings
Best Western
Naked Wines
Apache Automotive
Seat Unique
Wetherby Whaler
Pickups Self Storage
First Bus