Changes for Rhinos ahead of Wigan trip

Leeds Rhinos Head Coach Richard Agar has been forced to make a number of changes to his 21 man squad ahead of Friday’s trip to Wigan for the Round 2 Betfred Super League clash with the Warriors, live on Sky Sports.

Richie Myler has been ruled out with a groin injury suffered in the defeat to Warrington on Saturday whilst winger David Fusitu’a misses out as he completes his mandatory minimum 10 day return to play protocol following a failed Head Injury Assessment against the Wolves.

The Rhinos are also without forwards James Bentley and Brad Dwyer, who begin their four and one game suspensions respectively. Rhyse Martin has been allowed to return home to Australia on compassionate leave following the death of his father last week.

Leeds do welcome back half back Blake Austin for his debut. Austin missed the game against his former club Warrington last week through suspension but will make his delayed debut at DW Stadium.

Harry Newman, Alex Mellor, Jarrod O’Connor and Bodene Thompson, who all missed out on selection last week having been named in the initial 21 man squad are all included this week as is Jack Broadbent, Corey Johnson, Liam Tindall and Max Simpson. Johnson has been recalled from his two-game loan spell at Bradford Bulls whilst Simpson could make his debut.

Tickets and travel are on sale now for Friday’s trip, click here for more details.

The squad in full is:

1 Jack Walker sponsored by ACS Stainless Steel Fixings 

3 Harry Newman sponsored by Warners Fish Merchants 

4 Liam Sutcliffe sponsored by Mtech

5 Ash Handley sponsored by Roxy Ball Room 

6 Blake Austin sponsored by Vale Services

7 Aidan Sezer sponsored by Vale Services

8 Mikolaj Oledzki sponsored by LR Motors (Yorkshire) Limited

9 Kruise Leeming (c) sponsored by Fenton Finance

10 Matt Prior sponsored by K-Bins

13 Zane Tetevano sponsored by NIC FM Services Group

15 Alex Mellor sponsored by Horbury Dental Laboratories

17 Cameron Smith sponsored by Warners Fish Merchants 

19 Bodene Thompson sponsored by ACS Stainless Steel Fixings 

20 Tom Briscoe sponsored by Wetherby Whaler 

21 Morgan Gannon sponsored by Simon Baynes

23 Jack Broadbent sponsored by Johnstone’s Paint

24 Jarrod O’Connor Available for Sponsorship

25 James Donaldson sponsored by ACS Stainless Steel Fixings 

26 Corey Johnson sponsored by YF Furniture

28 Max Simpson sponsored by Fastsigns

29 Liam Tindall sponsored by Boardrm