Oledzki wins Rhinos Player of the Year

Prop Mikolaj Oledzki has been rewarded for an outstanding 2021 season by being named Leeds Rhinos Player of the Year at the club’s annual awards.

Oledzki, who made 16 appearances for the Rhinos last season, established himself as one of the most dominant forwards in the competition and earned his England debut against France.

The 23-year-old suffered a foot injury during the season but still made a big impact for the Rhinos as one of their most consistent performers.

Kruise Leeming, who also made his international debut alongside Oledzki and was named in the Super League Dream Team, finished in runner up spot.  Rhinos captain and last year’s winner, Matt Prior, who led from the front once again in his 23 appearances finished with a third place finish.

Harry Newman won the vote for the Leeds Building Society Try of the Season for his first try against Warrington Wolves in August, which helped confirm his arrival back in the competition after his long term injury injury.

Young star Jack Broadbent, who continued his rise in the Rhinos side last season, scoring nine tries in 14 games, was named the Yorkshire Evening Post Shooting Star having topped the paper’s readers’ poll, seeing off competition from Morgan Gannon and Jarrod O’Connor. He was presented with his award by the paper’s Rugby League correspondent Peter Smith.

Leeds Rhinos Women’s head coach Lois Forsell also confirmed their top performers of the season.  England international Caitlin Beevers won the Players Player of the Year and Aimee Staveley who was an ever present during the season won the Coaches Player of the Year award.  Captain, Courtney Winfield-Hill was selected by sponsors Mears as their Player of the Year and the team’s top try scorer Fran Goldthorp won the fans’ vote for Try of the Year for one of her five tries against Wakefield.

Speaking about winning the Player of the Year award Oledzki said: “It’s massive to win this award.  I have been here since I was a kid and I have always seen the young lads coming through and winning the young star of the year and you see them progress to win Player of the Year and you think this must be tough to achieve.  I never got to win the Young Player of the Year and this is really unexpected for me.  There are so many great players from our team that had amazing seasons like Kruise and Matty Prior and my season was cut in half with the injury but I accepted that I might not be up there, so this mean a lot to me.”

Watch the full awards ceremony