Women’s Players of the Year announced

Leeds Rhinos Women announced the winners of their annual awards at an end of season event to celebrate the 2021 season.

The Grand Finalists enjoyed a night of festivities where they presented their top awards and heritage certificates to the eight players who made their debut in 2021.

Caitlin Beevers was selected by her team mates to win the Players’ Player of the Year award. The England international made 12 appearances for the club in 2021 and scored nine tries over the campaign.

Lucy Murray who made her debut last season was recognised for her breakthrough year from the Academy by being named the Young Player of the Year. Murray made her first appearance on the opening day of the season against York City Knights and went onto play ten times and earned a place in the Grand Final.

Leeds Rhinos Women’s captain Courtney Winfield-Hill who scored 124 points in 12 games and inspired the team to their semi-final win against York was picked by main club sponsors Mears as their Player of the Year. Aimee Staveley, who was one of the side’s most consistent performers and an ever present for the team in 2021 won the Coaches Player of the Year.

The team’s top goal scorer Fran Goldthrop won the fans’ vote for Try of the Year for her effort against Wakefield in the league. The young England star scored 20 tries over the season and had two tries up for nomination.

There was also an opportunity for the players to show their appreciation for retiring player Danika Priim who played her final game in the Grand Final and was presented with a framed picture of her time at the club.

The following players were given their heritage numbers

38. Tara Moxon
39. Adaoha Akwiwu
40. Zoe Hornby
41. Sam Hulme
42. Lucy Murray
43. Ella Johnson
44. Eloise Hayward
45. Elychia Watson