Leeds Rhinos Women name team for season opener

Picture by Alex Whitehead/SWpix.com - 15/04/2021 - Rugby League - Betfred Women’s Super League - Emerald Headingley Stadium, Leeds, England - Leeds Rhinos captain Courtney Winfield-Hill pictured with the trophy at Emerald Headingley Stadium, the venue for the Grand Final, to preview the start of the Betfred Women’s Super League season.

Leeds Rhinos Women will begin their Betfred Women’s Super League campaign this Sunday against York City Knights at Sportspark Weetwood, kick off 3pm.

Assistant Coaches Anthony and David Gibbons will take charge of the team for the season opener, with Head Coach Lois Forsell currently on maternity leave, and the pair have named six new players in the squad.

New signings Tara Moxon, from Wakefield, Adaoha Akwiwu from Ilingworth Girls and Zoe Hornby from Whitley Bay Barbarians are all included in the squad.  Academy players Sam Hulme, who also played for Whitley Bay, and former Featherstone Lions and Oulton Raidettes player Ella Johnson and former South Leeds Spartans player Lucy Murray, could also be set for their Rhinos debuts.

Academy graduates Ellena Powell and Orla McCallion are named in the squad after being promoted to the first team for this season.  The pair both made their first appearance for the club in 2019.

Ten players who won the Grand Final with the Rhinos in 2019 are in the squad and Sophie Robinson could make her long awaited comeback after suffering a fractured tibia and fibula and dislocated ankle back in August 2019.

Please note Sunday’s game will be played behind closed doors, with highlights available on the Our League App later in the week

The squad in full is:

2. Tara Moxon *Leeds Rhinos Player Association
3. Sophie RobinsonShakas
4. Chloe KerriganTough Cookie Training
5. Fran GoldthorpPickups Self Storage
6. Hanna Butcher (VC)AJ Structural Steels Ltd
7. Coutney Winfield-Hill (C)Steven Jackson
8. Amy JohnsonEric Johnson of Northwich Ltd
9. Keara BennettFiitstyle
11. Aimee StaveleyAvailable to Sponsor
12. Elle FrainRiva Holmes
16. Ellie OlroydAAK Electrical
18. Sam Hulme*Oatein
19. Ellena PowellKBW Chambers
20. Lucy Murray*Leeds Trinity University
21. Ella Johnson*Available to Sponsor
22. Paige WebsterJH Landscapes
23. Orla McCallionAvailable to Sponsor
24. Adaoha Akwiwu*Available to Sponsor
25. Zoe Hornby*Available to Sponsor