Agar names 21 man squad to face Trinity

Leeds Rhinos Head Coach Richard Agar has named his 21 man squad to face Wakefield Trinity in the opening game of the new Betfred Super League season this Saturday at Emerald Headingley, kick off 3pm.

Agar has included all three of his new signings in forwards Zane Tetevano and King Vuniyayawa along with half back Kyle Eastmond. Earlier this week, Agar confirmed that he will wait until the teams last training session before making the final call on his starting line up with skipper Luke Gale and Eastmond both having had limited field time in pre-season.

The Rhinos are without seven players through injury. Jack Walker (foot), Harry Newman (leg), Konrad Hurrell (calf), Ash Handley (knee), Rob Lui (quad), Tom Holroyd (leg) and Callum McLelland (groin) all miss the opening round of the season.

Luke Gale, Alex Mellor, Zane Tetevano, Alex Sutcliffe and Kyle Eastmond could make their first appearances of 2021 having all missed the only pre-season game against Huddersfield Giants.

The squad in full is

2          Tom Briscoe sponsored by Wetherby Whaler 

7          Luke Gale (c) sponsored by Vale Services

8          Mikolaj Oledzki sponsored by BadRhino

9          Kruise Leeming sponsored by Fenton Finance

10        Matt Prior sponsored by K-Bins

11        Alex Mellor sponsored by Horbury Dental Laboratories

12        Rhyse Martin sponsored by The Ortus Group

13        Zane Tetevano sponsored by NIC Services Group Ltd

14        Brad Dwyer sponsored by The Artisan Drinks Co

15        Liam Sutcliffe sponsored by Mtech

16        Richie Myler sponsored by Y F Furniture 

17        Cameron Smith sponsored by Warners Fish Merchants 

19        King Vuniyayawa sponsored by Vale Services

20        Bodene Thompson sponsored by ACS Stainless Steel Fixings 

21        Alex Sutcliffe sponsored by Alternative Windows 

22        Sam Walters sponsored by Warners Fish Merchants 

24        Luke Briscoe sponsored by Roxy Ball Room 

25        James Donaldson sponsored by LR Motors (Yorkshire) Limited

26        Jarrod O’Connor sponsored by Leeds Rhinos Supporters Club Kirkstall

27        Jack Broadbent sponsored by Johnstone’s Paint

33        Kyle Eastmond sponsored by ACS Stainless Steel Fixings