Rhinos reveal squad numbers for 2021

Leeds Rhinos have named their squad numbers for the 2021 Betfred Super League season with rising stars Mikolaj Oledzki, Cameron Smith and Tom Holroyd the big movers. 

Oledzki enjoyed an outstanding season in 2020 and has been rewarded with the number eight shirt, replacing Ava Seumanufagai. Cameron Smith moves up from 22 to 17 whilst prop Tom Holroyd is elevated from 28 to 18. 

New signing New Zealand international Zane Tetevano will wear the number 13 shirt previously worn by Stevie Ward whilst Bodene Thompson and James Donaldson retain the 20 and 25 shirts they wore respectively last season. 

Young player of the year Alex Sutcliffe moves from 26 to 21 whist Sam Walters moves up from 27 to 22. 

Teenagers Liam Tindall, Corey Hall, Levi Edwards and Morgan Gannon complete the squad with the final four squad numbers for the first team squad. The Rhinos have kept the number 19 shirt vacant at present as the club look to continue to strengthen the squad in the coming weeks. 

Director of Rugby Kevin Sinfield commented, “We wanted the players to be the first to learn the new squad numbers when they arrived in for pre-season to pick up their new look Oxen training kit complete with their number on. I am pleased for all those who have been elevated as they have earned that move for their hard work and dedication over the last year. The entire squad knows the hard work starts now as we look to improve from 2020. 

“As in previous years, we have left one squad number vacant in our top 25 players. We are looking at a number of options but will only bring someone in who strengthens our group. This is an exciting squad of players in terms of their age and talent, with the majority on long term contracts with the club,” added Sinfield. 

The squad list in full is:

1. Jack Walker

2. Tom Briscoe

3. Harry Newman

4. Konrad Hurrell

5. Ash Handley

6. Rob Lui

7. Luke Gale

8. Mikolaj Oledzki

9. Kruise Leeming

10. Matt Prior

11. Alex Mellor

12. Rhyse Martin

13. Zane Tetevano

14. Brad Dwyer

15. Liam Sutcliffe

16. Richie Myler

17. Cameron Smith

18. Tom Holroyd


20. Bodene Thompson

21. Alex Sutcliffe

22. Sam Walters

23. Callum McLelland

24. Luke Briscoe

25. James Donaldson

26. Jarrod O’Connor

27. Jack Broadbent

28. Corey Hall

29. Liam Tindall

30. Levi Edwards

31. Morgan Gannon