Prior named Rhinos Player of the Year for 2020

Matt Prior

Leeds Rhinos prop Matt Prior has been named the Leeds Rhinos winners’ Player of the Year for 2020. 

Prior only joined the Rhinos this season from NRL side Cronulla Sharks but has become a favourite with team mates and fans alike with his incredible work rate and strength in the Rhinos side. He made 16 appearances in total for the Rhinos and produced an immense performance at Wembley as the Rhinos defeated Salford to lift the Coral Challenge Cup. 

Last year’s Player of the Year, Ash Handley, continued his rise to the top of the game with another top season, finishing as Super League’s top try scorer. That resulted in him gaining the runners up spot in the voting whilst skipper Luke Gale capped off a fine first season since his return to his home town club with a third place finish. 

Full back Richie Myler won the online poll to win the Leeds Building Society Try of the Season with his fine effort against Toronto Wolfpack at Emerald Headingley, set up by an audacious piece of skill by Gale just prior to the pandemic lockdown. 

Youngster Alex Sutcliffe won the vote with readers of the Yorkshire Evening Post to win the Shooting Star award as the club’s best young player seeing off strong competition from Mikolaj Oledzki, Cameron Smith and Tom Holroyd.

Finally, Leeds Rhinos Director of Rugby Kevin Sinfield was recognised for his outstanding leadership off the field at the club and his remarkable fundraising efforts to support Rob Burrow and the MND Association as he was named Clubman of the Year.  You can still support Kevin’s fundraising effort by clicking here.