Agar names squad for season opener

Leeds Rhinos Head Coach Richard Agar has named his 21 man squad for this Sunday’s season opener against Hull FC at Emerald Headingley, kick off 4.45pm.

Ava Seumanufagai has been ruled out after failing to recover in time from a knee injury suffered the pre-season game at Wigan Warriors a fortnight ago.

However, the Rhinos could give debuts to new signings Matt Prior, Alex Mellor, Luke Gale and Rhys Evans.

As well as Seumanufagai, Leeds are without Tom Briscoe, Kruise Leeming, Dom Crosby and Alex Sutcliffe through injury.

Tickets are still available for Sunday’s double header at Emerald Headingley but fans are urged to act fast to avoid disappointment. Tickets can be purchased 24 hours a day at

The 21 man squad in full is:

1. Jack Walker

3. Harry Newman

4. Konrad Hurrell

5. Ash Handley

6. Rob Lui

7. Luke Gale

10. Matt Prior

11. Alex Mellor

12. Rhyse Martin

13. Stevie Ward (C)

14. Brad Dwyer

15. Liam Sutcliffe

16. Richie Myler

17. Adam Cuthbertson

19. Mikolaj Oledzki

21. Rhys Evans

22. Cameron Smith

23. Callum Mclelland

24. Luke Briscoe

25. James Donaldson

28. Tom Holroyd