Young stars set to shine for Rhinos

Leeds Rhinos have revealed the next group of squad numbers for the 2020 season which features the future generation of Rhinos who will be looking to make their mark this year.

The group includes 25-year olds Luke Briscoe and Wellington Albert along with 28-year-old James Donaldson, however the remaining 13 players have an average age of 19 with new signing Corey Hall the youngest member of the 2020 first team squad aged 17. Centre Hall joined the Rhinos during the close season from Wigan Warriors.

The Rhinos have revealed that squad numbers 20 and 21 will remain vacant at this stage with the club working on recruitment of senior players to join the squad following the departure of Trent Merrin. 

Commenting on the latest group of squad numbers Director of Rugby Kevin Sinfield said, “This a very exciting group of young players with unquestionable talent. Obviously, with the re-introduction the reserve team this season, we are confident they will grow together over the next few years and enjoy bright futures at the club as they develop alongside the senior players at the club.

“Mikolaj Oledzki and Cameron Smith have been knocking on the door for a couple of years and now have the chance to cement their place in the first team squad.  Corey Johnson, Callum McLelland, Alex Sutcliffe, Tom Holroyd and Muizz Mustapha all have made their first team debuts now and along with Sam Walters, Dan Waite Pullan and Jack Broadbent spent time on loan in the Championship last season.

“With regards keeping two spots open at this stage, Richard Agar is happy with how the group as a whole are progressing in pre-season but we will continue to work in the market to find the right people to fit into our squad and environment. It is important that we get players who have an unflinching passion to play for the club but who also help set the standards for these young men to follow,” added Sinfield.   

The next group of 2020 squad numbers are as follows (Rhinos Academy graduates in bold, ages in brackets):

19 Mikolaj Oledzki (21)

22 Cameron Smith (21)

23 Callum McLelland (20)

24 Luke Briscoe (25)

25 James Donaldson (28)

26 Alex Sutcliffe (20)

27 Sam Walters (18)

28 Thomas Holroyd (18)

29 Corey Johnson (19)

30 Muizz Mustapha (19)

31 Dan Waite Pullan (21)

32 Tyler Dupree (19)

33 Jarrod O’Connor (18)

34 Jack Broadbent (19)

35 Wellington Albert (25)

36 Corey Hall (17)