Jones-Buchanan named Rhino of the Year

Leeds Rhinos and England star Jamie Jones-Buchanan has been named the Leeds Rhinos Player of the Year for 2011 at the club’s annual awards dinner at Headingley Carnegie.

Jones-Buchanan has only missed two games all season and is the club’s top tackler this season, making it count on 97% of occasions. He is also the top metre maker in the forwards and has gone one better than last season when he was named runner up for the top award.

He beat Kiwi Brent Webb into runners up spot whilst skipper Kevin Sinfield was in third place in the award sponsored by TW Steel and Berrys Jewellers.

Danny McGuire received recognition for his outstanding community work, including his role as an ambassador for Leeds Mencap, by winning the Cravendale Commitment to the Community Award whilst Ryan Hall picked up the Leeds Building Society Try of the Season award for his effort at Salford, after picking up over 60% of the fans vote.

Club President Harry Jepson OBE was named the Clubman of the Year whilst Alex Foster won the Under 18 Player of the Year award and Jimmy Watson was named U20 Player of the Year.

Young sensation Ben Jones-Bishop picked up the YEP Shooting Star Award as the best young player in the first team squad and picked up his award from YEP reader Jillian Work from Otley.

There were four special awards on the night as well with Kevin Sinfield receiving a specially produced version of the limited edition print that marks him becoming the club’s leading goal kicker of all time off the man whose record he beat, Lewis Jones. Physio Dave O’Sullivan received a special token of appreciation from the squad as he heads home to Ireland at the end of the season whilst there were two emotional presentations to Ali Lauitiiti and Keith Senior to mark their incredible contribution to the club over a glorious period in the club’s history.